The ATBU is set to register in Thailand


27 May 2007

The first meeting of the ATBU Executive Council was held at the Headquarter of the ATBU at Mahamakut Buddhist University (MBU), Bangkok in the evening of May 27th, during the 2007 United Nations Vesak Day (UNDV) celebrations last month. Seven of the nine Council members were present at the meeting, which was called by the Chairman to discuss where to register the association.

At the meeting, the Council unanimously passed a resolution to register the ATBU in Bangkok under the Thai law. This follows that a bank account for the ATBU will also be opened soon in Bangkok. The Council has authorised three of its members from Thailand to be signatories in opening and administering the ATBU Bank Account.

The meeting was opened by the Chairman of the Council, the Most Ven. Dr. Ashin Nyanissara, Chancellor of Sitagu International Buddhist Academy (Myanmar) and officiated by the Executive Secretary, the Ven. Prof. Dr. Khammai Dhammasami of International Theravada Buddhist Missionary University, Yangon. The other attendants were the Ven. Phra Theppariyattivimol, Acting Rector of MBU (Thailand), Dr. R. Panth, Rector of Nalanda University (India), Dr. Eko Legowo, Principal of Kertarajasa Buddhist College, Jawa (Indonesia), the Ven. Prof. Dr. T. Seelakkhandha, Vice Chancellor of Buddha Sravaka Bhikshu University, Anuradhapura (Sri Lanka), the Ven. Phrakhrupalad Suwatthanavachiralhun (Phramaha Sawai Chotiko) of Mahachulalongkornrajavidyalaya University (Thailand).

The Council members from overseas were participating in the UNDV, which was attended also by Buddhist leaders and scholars from sixty-one countries.

One of the two absent Council members, Ven. Prof. Tepsattha Khy Sovanratana, Vice Rector of Sihanouk Raja Buddhist University, though in Bangkok at the time, had to attend to an official matter for the Supreme Sangharaja of Cambodia and could not participate in the meeting; the other, Ven. Dr. Anil Sakya Sugandho, Deputy Dean at MBU, was away on his lecture tour in the USA.
(Source: The Secretariat)